Bellefonte High School yearbook receives national excellence award

PHOTO PROVIDED Bellefonte High School yearbook staff poses for a photo in front of the Josten’s sign.

BELLEFONTE — The yearbook program at Bellefonte Area High School received the 2019 Yearbook Program of Excellence award by Jostens. The 16-member student staff works with adviser Andrew Weigold.

Staff members are Kaitlyn Alterio, Kaitlyn Berkey, Selah Brown, Shaun Carey, Olivia Fisher, Parker Goodrow, Kerri Hoover, Jasmine Kozel, Abby Lohr, Evan McMullen, Ryan Miller, Alexia Rockey, Andrew Sharp, Jessica Sidwell, Mallorie Smith and Logan VonGunden.

According to Jostens, the National Yearbook Program of Excellence recognizes yearbook staff twice a year that “reflect a broad representation of the student body while helping students develop 21st- century skills such as communication, collaboration, and information and communication technologies literacy.”

“I have been the yearbook adviser at Bellefonte for six years, (and) each year our (members) embark on a journey to create a book that encompasses many events throughout the year, as well as showcase our school spirit on each page of the book,” Weigold said in a prepared statement. “Our staff uses new techniques in order to finish the yearbook on time and also gets to add their own creative spin on their pages. I am so proud of this year’s group who helped to win this award.”

The award was presented to the Bellefonte yearbook program for achieving the defined criteria in three categories — creating an inclusive yearbook; generating school engagement, successfully managing the yearbook creation process.