Hanna re-elected to House leadership post

From staff reports

HARRISBURG — State Rep. Mike Hanna, D-Lock Haven, has been re-elected House Minority Whip by his Democratic colleagues.

Hanna won a tough battle for re-election on Nov. 8, and the Democrats in the state House elected their leaders Tuesday.

“I am proud to be re-elected as the House Democratic Whip for another term,” Hanna told The Express. “It is so important to me that my constituents have a strong voice in Harrisburg.

“I am humbled to be a leader for my community during the 2017-18 Legislative Session and look forward to tackling the issues that are most important to residents of the 76th Legislative District.”

Hanna, who has served his district since 1991, was among the returning and newly elected members of the Pennsylvania House Democratic Caucus chosen Tuesday for the 2017-18 legislative session.

State Rep. Frank Dermody of the 33rd Legislative District, representing Allegheny and Westmoreland counties, retained his position as Democratic leader.

“As the minority party, we face a continuing challenge, but we embrace it and look forward to working with Gov. Tom Wolf to keep getting things done,” Dermody said. “House Democrats will continue to fight hard at the Capitol and in our communities for a Pennsylvania that works better for all people, not just the special interests.

“We want a Pennsylvania that offers good jobs that support careers and family. We want a state with quality public schools, clean air and water, and a place that offers a fair opportunity for everyone who wants to work hard and make their life better,” he added. “We look forward to working with Democrats and Republicans to fight for policies that support these values and against the worst and most extreme ideas of those who would take Pennsylvania, its economy and its residents backwards.”

Other House Democrats elected were:

r Caucus Chairman Dan Frankel, 23rd Legislative District (Allegheny County). Representative since 1999.

r Caucus Secretary Rosita Youngblood, 198th Legislative District (Philadelphia). Representative since 1994.

r Caucus Administrator Neal Goodman, 123rd Legislative District (Schuylkill County). Representative since 2003.

r Policy Committee Chairman Mike Sturla, 96th Legislative District (Lancaster County). Representative since 1991.

r Appropriations Committee Chairman Joe Markosek, 25th Legislative District (Allegheny County). Representative since 1983.

r New members of the caucus, whose terms will begin Dec. 1, include Representatives-elect Anita Astorino Kulik (Allegheny), Kevin Haggerty (Lackawanna), Carol Hill-Evans (York), Brian Kirkland (Delaware), Maureen Madden (Monroe), Perry Warren (Bucks), and Morgan Cephas, Isabella Fitzgerald, Christopher Rabb and Jared Solomon of Philadelphia.

The new and returning House lawmakers will formally take the oath of office as voting representatives on Jan. 3, 2017.