Bellefonte Council reorganizes

EMMA GOSALVEZ/THE EXPRESS New Bellefonte Borough Council members are, from left, Anne Walker, Michael Prendergast, Evan Duffey, and Jon Eaton.

BELLEFONTE – Bellefonte Borough has four new faces to represent the community.

On Tuesday night, Borough Council welcomed new members Evan Duffey, Jon Eaton, Michael Prendergast, and Anne Walker.

Mayor Tom Wilson swore in Duffey at the start of the meeting, with the three other new members sworn in previously.

Appointed as new council president with a 6 to 3 vote was Councilwoman Joanne Tosti-Vasey, who will serve her third year on council.

Also nominated was Councilman Randy Brachbill.

Brachbill was the sole nominee for vice president.

He was previously elected as vice president in January 2016.

Last fall, Brachbill was re-elected for his second term on council.

Appointed as president pro tem with a 7 to 2 vote was Councilman Doug Johnson. This will be Johnson’s third year on council.

Also nominated was Councilwoman Melissa Hombosky, who was elected last fall for her first four-year term after filling a seat vacancy in May 2016.

Various borough appointments were also made during the meeting.

Among those, Jeff Stover was re-appointed as borough solicitor. Deb Burger was re-appointed as treasurer, with Gary Hoover re-appointed as assistant treasurer. Stan Wallace was re-appointed as borough sewage enforcement officer.