Non-elected county workers recieve 2.25 percent raise

LOCK HAVEN — A 2.25 percent raise for all non-elected employees whose salaries are not set by statute or governed by a collective bargaining agreement, were approved by the Clinton County commissioners Thursday.

The raises will take effective for the first payroll period in 2019.

“It gives all employees the 2.25 percent raise that has already been approved for the union employees… and the budget has been built accordingly,” Commissioner Robert “Pete” Smeltz said.

The commissioners also approved salaries for several new correctional officers at the Clinton County Correctional Facility.

They include full-time officers Laura Knaur and Timothy Schorr, both at a salary of $28,891.00 (Grade F). Knaur’s salary is effective Dec. 17 and Schorr’s is effective Dec. 30.

“Knaur and Schorr are currently part-time workers who will be moving to full time positions. The prison board and the warden do the hiring, we do not. We just set their salaries,” said Smeltz.

The pay for Jonathan Putterman, Robert Leathers, Dustin Young and Samuel Aremu as part-time correctional officers is $11.50 per hour, not to exceed 1,000 hours per year, effective Dec. 17.

“The warden (Angela Hoover) wants to put part-timers into the pipeline,” Smeltz said.

County Chief Clerk Jann Meyers noted, “the prison is now fully loaded… fully staffed, as of today.”

The board also approved the annual salary of Ryan Bratton as full-time deputy sheriff.

Brattan, who had been working the position as a part time basis, will be paid $27,626.00 (Grade E), effective Dec. 17, 2018.

Also on Thursday, Ivan McElwain was approved for reappointment to the Clinton County Zoning Hearing Board for a three-year term, expiring Dec. 31, 2021.

“Ivan has been on this board for quite a while, and does a good job,” Smeltz said.

The resignation of Beth Dyke as Archival Records Scanner and Trainer was also acknowledged and approved.

“Beth has done a great job. We hate to see her leaving,” said commissioner Jeff Snyder.

The following items were also approved by the board:

– The commissioners’ 2019 meeting schedule, which was distributed to attendees at the meeting. The schedule will include four night meetings — March 14, June 13, Sept. 12 and Dec. 12 — and the commissioners invite the public out to ask more questions and get more involved. Thursday night meetings will take place at 6:30 p.m., while the Thursday morning meetings will remain at 10 a.m.

– A one-year renewal with TLIC Worldwide, Inc., for McAfee Virus, Malware, and End Point Security for all users on the county network in the amount of $4,138.29.

– A quote from Bomgar Corporation for licensing of remote access software to access computers running Windows 10, in the amount of $11,669.20, and one year of maintenance in the amount of $1,577.24.

rThe payment of county bills in the amount of $925,025.01 and net payroll in the amount of $25,547.94 (health insurance waiver reimbursements), for the period ending Dec. 7, 2018.

Bill invoices over $10,000 included:

– $27,698.75 to Aramark for prison food service.

– $69,658.75 to Correct Care Solutions, LLC, for prison medical contract.

– $223,799.25 to First National Bank for bond payment.

– $64,926.07 to Jersey Shore State Bank for bond payment.

– $108,898.01 to M and T Bank for federal tax (payroll).

– $14,107.82 to M and T Bank for state tax (payroll).

– Payments of $45,303.33, $45,627.11, and $47,628.76 to M and T Investment Group for retirement.

– $68,648.00 to PCORP for final premium.

– $11,600.00 to Tyler Technologies for CAD Project.