Metzger, Mussare move on to November

WILLIAMSPORT — Scott Metzger and incumbent Tony Mussare are moving on to the November election for Lycoming County commissioner after earning the Republican nominations in Tuesday’s primary, according to unofficial election results.

As the only two Democrats in the running, Elliott Weiss and incumbent Rick Mirabito will join them on the ballot.

Of those four, the three with the most votes in the November general election will take the reigns of the county for four-year terms starting in 2020.

Musarre, of South Williamsport, seeking his third term as commissioner, received 7,282 votes, or 21.9 percent of the overall vote.

“We have a lot of challenges that face Lycoming County, and I’m glad the voters have the confidence to put me back into office,” Mussare said. “I’d also like to congratulate Scott Metzger. He ran a great campaign, he had a lot of support and deservingly so. I’m looking forward to working with him.”

Metzger, a Montoursville business owner and retired county adult probation deputy, took the majority with 7,681 votes, or 23.1 percent of the overall.

“I am just so humbled and overwhelmed by everybody’s support. I want to thank God, first of all, and thank my committee. Most of all, thank the voters for having faith in me,” Metzger said. “I’ve met so many wonderful people along this journey. I’m looking forward to working with the other elected officials, if I’m one of them, and I’m looking forward to working with the municipalities and other agencies throughout the county to make the county even better than it is now.”

“I want to congratulate the opponents for their campaigns,” he added.

The nominees went up against seven other Republicans. Their names and vote totals follow:

Incumbent Jack McKernan, 6,099 votes; Gabriel J. Campana, 3,816 votes; John Bower, 3,054 votes; Kathryn “Tabby” Schultz Nassberg, 1,859 votes; Chad J. Riley, 1,362 votes; Todd Lauer, 1,130 votes; and Steve Brady, 913 votes.

There were 54 write-in votes on the Republican ballot.

McKernan, of Loyalsock Township, fell shy of his second term by nearly 1,200 votes,

“Serving with Jack over the past four years was an honor,” Mussare said. “He always had the taxpayers in mind. He worked hard, very hard. Though I feel disappointed for him, I wish him well in the future.”

Of 9,424 Democratic votes, Mirabito received 4,973 while Weiss received 3,981. There were 470 write-in votes.

The official vote count will begin later this week.