Philadelphia Eagles name five team captains altogether

PHILADELPHIA — The Philadelphia Eagles announced five team captains Tuesday afternoon.

Quarterback Carson Wentz, center Jason Kelce, defensive tackle Fletcher Cox, safety Malcolm Jenkins and linebacker Kamu Grugier-Hill will serve in the role for the 2018 season. The five players will wear a “C” on their jerseys this season.

If you want to break it down be unit, Wentz and Kelce are the offensive captains, Cox and Jenkins are the defensive captains and Grugier-Hill is the special teams captain.

It’s a bit of turnover from last year. In 2017, Wentz and left tackle Jason Peters were offensive captains, Jenkins and defensive end Brandon Graham were defensive captains and safety Chris Maragos was the special teams captain. Kelce, Cox and Grugier-Hill are first-time captains.