BEA Wrestling: Eagles finish 8th in Ultimate Warrior Tournament


MORRISDALE — Entering the second day of the Ultimate Warrior Tournament sponsored by West Branch High School, Bald Eagle Area still had a four wrestlers alive for possible medals.

Cooper Gilham (113) and Dylan Bisel (182) were alive in the championship semifinals, while Garrett Giedroc (120) and David Close (195) were still battling in a round of consolations.

When it was all said and done, Gilham and Bisel both finished fourth, while Close wound up fifth and Giedroc finished sixth.

Here is a closer look at how those place finishes resulted:

Gilham lost his semifinal bout by a 6-0 score to Kale Biscoe of Southern Columbia, defeated Luke Hileman of Altoona 6-2 before losing 10-0 to Jeff Russell of Shippensburg.

Bisel also fell in his bid for the title match by a 7-4 score to Mason McCready of Hollidaysburg before bouncing back to down Clay Green of Towanda 7-3 in his first consolation bout. Bisel then finished fourth when he dropped an 8-3 decision to Garret Henigan of Blairsville in the third-place match.

Giedroc stayed alive in his first consolation bout of the day when he defeated Damion Finnegan of Altoona 3-1, but lost by fall in 4:13 to Hunter Armstrong of Marion Center in the fifth-place bout to finish sixth.

Close earned his way to a place match with a pair of falls, in 2:00 of Trevor Lightner of Hickory in 2:00 before decking Austin Wickham of Wilson in 2:41.

In his effort to reach the third-place bout, Close was blanked 3-0 by John Vargo of Bentworth, but rallied back to take fifth with an 8-3 decision over Trentin Whaley of Bellwood-Antis.

In the team standings, the Eagles finished in the eighth spot with their four place winners and 92 points. Southern Columbia won the team title with 225.5 points that included three champions and 10 place winners, Mifflin County winding up in the runner-up position with 179 points on the strength of eight place winners including a pair of individual champions.

The following is the complete list of Saturday’s action:

Championship Bouts

106 Nic Allison (Mifflin County) DEC Bryce BEAtty (Mu), 9-3

113 Kole Biscoe (Southern Columbia) DEC Marino Angelicchio (Greater Latrobe), 5-3

120 Amonn Ohl (St Joe’s Catholic) F Christian Fisher (Mifflin County), 3:58

126 Anthony Glasl (Brockway) DEC Matt Sarbo (Altoona), 11-8

132 Gabe Willochell (Greater Latrobe) MD Chase Chapman (Philipsburg-osceola), 16-2

138 Marckis Branford (Wilson) DEC Daniel Yetsick (Ambridge), 5-4

145 Caleb Dowling (St Joe’s Catholic) DEC Gavin Garcia (Southern Columbia), 5-4

152 Jon Dale (Moshannon Valley) DEC Jake Trumbower (Lake Lehman), 5-0

160 Trey Kibe (Mifflin County) F Tyler Stoltfuz (St Joe’s Catholic), 1:13

170 Dillon Keane (Bradford) DEC Derek Yingling (West Branch), 3-0

182 Garrett Mcclintick (Brockway) DEC Mason Mccready (Hollidaysburg), 3-0

195 Gaige Garcia (Southern Columbia) DEC Kolby Franklin (St Joe’s Catholic), 3-2

220 Preston Zachman (Southern Columbia) DEC Kolby Flank (Wilson), 1-0

285 Jake Ryan (Mu) F Blaine Davis (Mifflin County), 0:26


106 Mark Palmer (Brockway) F Caiden Poff (Wilson), 2:14

113 Jeffrey Russell (Shippensburg) MD Cooper Gilham (BEA), 10-0

120 Jack Bruce (Blairsville) DEC Hunter Armstrong (Marion Center), 6-5

126 Dylan Ramsey (Shippensburg) DEC Carter Gill (Hickory), 2-0

132 Bob Long (Lake Lehman) DEC Zack Witmer (St Joe’s Catholic), 3-2

138 Michael Miner (Southern Columbia) DEC Jude Pallo (Clearfield), 5-3

145 Preston Rogers (Towanda) DEC Jack Pletcher (Greater Latrobe), 3-2

152 Cole Casilio (Johnsonburg) DEC Hunter Weitoish (Philipsburg-osceola), 1-0

160 Cooper Mosier (Towanda) F Cade Linn (Southern Columbia), 5:44

170 Tyler Wileman (Juniata) TF Brycen Hassinger (Mifflin County)

182 Garrett Henigin (Blairsville) DEC Dylan Bisel (BEA), 8-3

195 John Vargo (Bentworth) DEC Eric Johnson (Brockway), 5-1

220 Gus Dellinger (Hollidaysburg) F Tj Meehan (Lake Lehman), 1:56

285 Lear Quinton (Southern Columbia) DEC Evan Pellegrine (Bellwood Antis), 12-5