Local Auto Racing

Jamie Bird

for the Express

It was a little chilly in the stands at Lincoln Speedway on Saturday, but it was hot, hot, HOT on the racetrack.

Danny Dietrich wowed the crowd with a last-lap pass to earn his first victory of the young 2019 season. Dietrich had started on the pole of the 25-lap feature, but this was not an easy win for the pole-sitter.

Danny and young Anthony Macri were battling for the lead, Ryan Smith was making his way through the field from his sixth starting spot. Danny started closing the gap to Macri as they caught the tail end of the field. Dietrich tried to get under Marci on lap 17 in turns 3 and 4, to no avail.

As the leaders worked their way through lapped-traffic, Dietrich and Ryan Smith put on a great show as they battled for second.

Dietrich caught up to Macri on lap 22 with Smith joining in on the fun on lap 23. Danny made the move of the race with a slide-job for the lead in turns 1 and 2 on the last lap. Smith followed and earned a second-place finish for the second week in a row. Macri crossed the line for third.

Chase Dietz finished fourth with Freddie Rahmer completing the top five.

Lincoln Speedway is back in action next Saturday with 410 & 358 Sprint Cars. Racing starts at 6 p.m., and grandstand gates opening at 4 p.m.

On Sunday it was the Season-opener at Williams Grove and Lucas Wolfe was on top of his game, winning his second race of the season and his 20th at the Mechanicsburg oval. The Grove returns to action under the lights on Friday night at 7:30 p.m. when it hosts the Lawrence

Chevrolet 410 sprint cars and the seaso- opener for the Ultimate Late Model Series.



Gene Latta Ford 410 Sprint Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich ($3,500); 2. 72-Ryan Smith; 3. 39M-Anthony Macri; 4. 75-Chase Dietz; 5. 51-Freddie Rahmer

Pizza Shop of Etters Central PA Legends Feature (20 Laps) – 1. 15H-Harlon Leppo ($300); 2. 53-Bill Diehl; 3. 10-Jeremy Ott; 4. 8CR-Mason Chaney; 5. 58Z-Zachary Settle


410 sprints, 25 laps: 1. Lucas Wolfe, 2. Danny Dietrich, 3. TJ Stutts, 4. Ryan Smith, 5. Dale Blaney, 6. Freddie Rahmer.