125 offices on Clinton County primary ballot

From staff reports

LOCK HAVEN — The stage is set… and the May 21 primary election promises to be interesting with 125 public offices to be filled on the county ballot.

Nomination petitions received by the county office total 31 for the Democratic party and 49 for the Republican party, according to Maria Boileau, county director of voter registration/elections and deputy chief clerk.

Candidates who have filed nomination petitions have until March 27 to withdrawal their names.

And, on Wednesday, March 20, candidates who have filed petitions will participate in the casting of the lots to determine in which order their names will appear on the ballot.

There are a lot of offices where no candidates have filed petitions to get their names on the ballot.

That could mean write-ins will play a role in the election, Boileau said.

A write-in candidate must receive as many write-in votes as are required to file a petition to get a candidate’s name on the ballot. That number is 10 for municipal offices and school board positions in Clinton County. For those seeking a city of Lock Haven or Clinton County office, the number is 100, she said.

Perhaps the most watched county race this year will be the election of three county commissioners, with six candidates filing petitions — Democrats Paul Conklin, the incumbent, and Angela Harding, and Republicans Jeff Snyder, the incumbent, and Mitch Christensen, Miles Kessinger and Michele Whitney.

In the primary, voters will vote for two, sending the top two vote getters on the Democrat ballot and the top two Republicans on to the November General Election, when the top three vote getters will win county commissioner seats.

There are also two interesting races for Keystone Central School Board seats. Of the nine-person board, five seats are up for election this year.

In Region II, Elisabeth Lynch has crossfiled and her name will be on both the Democratic and Republic ballots. She’ll face Gregory D. Mayes on the Republican ballot and Paul Washington on the Democratic ballot, as neither Mayes nor Washington have crossfiled.

And in Region IV, incumbent Debra Smith will run against Jeff Johnston. Both have crossfiled and their names will appear on both ballots. Johnston is a former board member who resigned when he moved from the region he represented. He is seeking election in the region where he now resides.

Other Keystone Central board members, all of whom have crossfiled and will appear on both ballots, include Wayne Koch, incumbent, representing Region 1; Randy S. Strouse in Region VI and Boise Miller, incumbent in Region VIII.

Candidates on the ballot for county offices follow:

– Prothonotary — Democrat, incumbent Marie Vilello; Republican Cindy Love.

– District Attorney — Democrat, incumbent David Strouse.

– Auditor — Democrat incumbent Michelle Crowell; Republicans, incumbent Rita O’Brien, and Brooke Fravel.

– Sheriff — Democrat incumbent Kerry Stover.

– Register and Recorder — Republican incumbent Jennifer Hoy.

Candidates listed for offices in the city of Lock Haven follow:

– Mayor — Democrat Joel Long.

– Council member — Democrat William H. Mincer; Republican Douglas T. Byerly.

Municipal candidates on the ballot follow:

– Allison Township — Republican Fran Johnson for supervisor; Democrat Polly Spangler for auditor.

– Avis Borough — Democrats Jeff Raab, Donald E. Aungst and Michael Bilbay and Republican Thomas Gordon, four-year council terms; and Democrat Elmer Christian Jr., two-year council term.

– Bald Eagle Township — Republican C.L. Tuff Rine Jr., two-year supervisor term, and Republican Stephen Tasselli, six-year supervisor term.

– Beech Creek Borough — Democrat Lynn Gray and Republicans Greg Small and Michael R. English, four-year council terms. Also, Republican Tammy J. Bechdel, auditor.

– Castanea Township — Republican Brandon Coleman, six-year supervisor.

– Chapman Township — Republican Tim Horner, six-year supervisor.

– Crawford Township — Republican Gerald Seyler, six-year supervisor; Democrat Andrea Meixel, two-year tax collector.

– Dunnstable Township — Democrat Donald J. Weise and Republican Thomas E. Bechtol Jr., six-year supervisor term.

– Flemington Borough — Democrat Jo LaRocque, Republican Wayne Allison, four-year council term.

– Gallagher Township — Republican Kenneth M. Porter and Democrat Kenneth J. McCullough, six-year supervisor. Republican Margaret G. Neff, six-year auditor.

– Greene Township — Republican Robert W. Bressler, six-year supervisor seat.

– Lamar Township –Democrat Larry D. Rhine and Republican Martin M. Salinas, six-year supervisor; Republican Larry E. Habesevich, six-year auditor.

– Leidy Township — Republican Charles E. Cross, six-year supervisor; Republican Susan L. Clemmer, four-year auditor.

– Loganton Borough — Democrat Judy S. Karstetter and Republicans Christopher Scaff and Myron Seyler, four-year council; Democrat Jane Rossman, six-year auditor term.

– Logan Township –Republican Dan McCormack, six-year supervisor.

– Mill Hall Borough — Democrat Frederick C. Bucheit and Republicans John W. Gugliocciello Jr., Daniel McCloskey and Brandon Irvin, four-year council.

– Noyes Township –Republican Richard A. Grenell Jr., six-year supervisor.

– Pine Creek Township — Republicans Thomas G. Wilt Jr., six-year supervisor and John M. Reese, four-year supervisor.

– Porter Township — Democrat Nevin L. Courter, six-year supervisor; Republicans Sharon Schrack, six-year auditor and Janice Keller, four year auditor.

– Renovo Borough — Republican David Knauff and Kristy Serafini-Brooks, four-year council member.

– Wayne Township — Republican James B. Maguire and Democrat Robin Condo, six-year supervisor.

– Woodward Township — Democrat John L. Barth II, six-year supervisor.