In KC school board, Johnston, Lynch take both nominations

From staff reports

MILL HALL – Jeff Johnston will return to the Keystone Central School Board.

Johnston defeated incumbent Debra Smith to represent Region IV of the Keystone Central School District.

That region encompasses Pine Creek, Dunnstable and Wayne townships. .

Johnston won both the Republican and Democratic nominations on Tuesday.

He garnered 394 votes from Republicans and 210 votes from Democrats.

Smith won 217 Republican votes and 137 Democratic votes.

All vote totals are unofficial.

Johnston formerly served on the board as representative of Region VIII from 2015 until the end of 2017, when he resigned due to moving to Pine Creek Township. He is very familiar with Keystone Central, having served as an elementary principal serving in various elementary buildings in the Keystone for 17 years. His longest tenure as principal of Mill Hall Elementary School was from 1993 to 2005. In 2005 he left Keystone Central to become superintendent of the Canton Area School District, a position he held until his retirement.

A life-long resident of Clinton County, Smith attended and taught in Clinton County schools. She was seeking another term.

In Region II, it appears Elisabeth Lynch of Mill Hall will continue to serve on the school board after having been appointed recently to serve a vacant seat.

On the Republican ballot, Lynch narrowly defeated Gregory Mayes, 196 to 194.

Lynch gained 142 votes on the Democratic ticket to 108 for Paul Washington.

There was 1 write-in vote. The results are unofficial.

On the Democratic ticket, Lynch won 142 votes to 108 for Paul Washington.

Region II Lamar Township and Mill Hall, in the May 21 primary election.

In Region VI, uncontested Randy Strouse garnered 156 Republican votes. There was no Democratic candidate for Region VI.

In Region VIII, uncontested current board President Boise Miller won 385 Republican votes, while on the Democratic ticket he gained 305 votes.

No candidates filed for Region III and, unofficially, write-in votes were minimal.

However, Polly Donahay was recently appointed to represent Region III upon Billie Rupert’s resignation. Region III is comprised of Beech Creek borough and the townships of Beech Creek, Liberty and Curtin.