LHU holds 59th annual Natural Sciences Convocation

PHOTO PROVIDED President Pignatello talking to a student during the event.

LOCK HAVEN — Lock Haven recently held its 59th annual Natural Sciences Convocation on Friday, Nov. 8 in the Ulmer Hall Planetarium, on the campus of LHU. The program, sponsored and arranged by the departments of biological sciences, chemistry and geology and physics, celebrated the achievements of LHU science students.

The welcome was given by Dr. Thomas Wynn, professor in the geology and physics department, who also served as the emcee for the event. Opening remarks were given by Dr. Robert Pignatello, LHU president; and Dr. Jonathan Lindzey, dean of the College of Natural, Behavioral and Health Sciences.

Awards for academic achievement were presented to students in biological sciences, chemistry, geology, physics and nanotechnology. Students receiving awards were:

— Maegan Miller, of Lock Haven, Intermediate General Physics Award, Principles of Biology Award and Principles of Chemistry Award

— Tanner DePalma, of Easton, Physics I & II Award

PHOTO PROVIDED Group photo of all of the award winners with President Pignatello.

— Grier Sayers, of Warminster, Sara M. Barr Memorial Scholarship

— Jack Showalter, of Bellwood, Principles of Geology Award

— Laurel Moyer, of Lock Haven, John Way Environmental Stewardship Award

— Kelly Whitty, of Renovo, Advancement in Geology Award and Deborah Suder Scholarship

— Adam Orcutt, of Williamsport, Dr. Donald and Linda Green Geology Scholarship

— Abby Rea, of Philipsburg, Biology Honors Award

— Jacob Adam, of Coplay, Hunter-Harnishfeger Award

— Jessica Cover, of Millersburg, Paul F. & Shirley R. Klens Biology Scholarship

— Collin Wesley, of Bellefonte, Mary Pursell Award in Genetics

— Madison McKeown, of Grampian, Alfred Hoberman Chemistry Scholarship

— Grace Roberts, of Manheim, Alfred Hoberman Chemistry Scholarship

— Samuel Hogan, of Halifax, Kleinman Scholarship

— Kayla Elliott, of Lock Haven, Kleinman Scholarship

— Emily Robb, of Millersville, Organic Chemistry Award

The keynote speaker was Dr. Peter Wilf, paleobotanist and professor of geosciences at Penn State University. He uses fossil plants to investigate ancient ecosystems, past environmental change and the evolution and extinction of terrestrial life, while emphasizing connections to modern climate change and biodiversity. Significant field areas for his international research program include southern Argentina, western U.S., the Malay Archipelago, Australia and Panama. Wilf’s research and teaching have earned him recognition as a David and Lucile Packard Fellow, Fellow of the Geological Society of America, Fellow of the Paleontological Society, Michigan Fellow and Paleontological Society distinguished lecturer.

The convocation committee was chaired by Dr. Thomas Wynn, and also included Cheryl Karstetter and Drs. Indrajith Senevirathne, Brent May, Kurt Rublein, Jennifer Bandura and Jennifer Deitloff.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)