On Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway, it was the All-Star Circuit of Champions 36th annual National Open Jim Nace Memorial, and Ryan Smith battled young Freddie Rahmer to pick up his first career win on the big track in his No.11 sprint car.

All-Star racer, Aaron Reutzel of Clute, Texas, who was making his first career start at Selinsgrove, was the night’s Fast Tees Fast Qualifier with a lap time of 15.876 over the 31-car field and just missed setting a new one-lap track record. Smith set a new 4-lap track record in the first dash with a time of 1:04.977. It was so fast that the track dropped the feature down to 30 laps to try and finish without having a fuel stop. Kyle Bachman picked up the pro stock win.

It was Championship Night at Clinton County with six divisions of race cars in attendance. They included the popular 358 limited late models, pro stocks, Laurel Highland Sprint Car Series, 270 & 600 micro sprints, plus the front wheel drive four cylinder cars.

Point battles were tight entering the night’s program, several titles were decided by one or two points. Ray and Campbell congratulate the 2018 track title winners:

They include Andrew Yoder (limited late model), Tommy Dawson (pro stock), Ken Duke (305 sprint car), Bobby Sanso (270 micro sprint), Jake Hummel (600 micro sprint) and Tim Campbell (front wheel drive 4 cylinder).

September 14 feature winners included Dylan Yoder (limited late model), Tommy Dawson (pro stock), Scott Lutz, (Laurel Highland sprint car), Jeff Weaver (270 micro sprint), Garrett Bard (600 micro sprint) and Adam Campbell (front wheel drive 4 cylinder).

The biggest disappointment of the year has been the weather. Repeated rain outs from one of the wettest summers in recent memory washed out a large portion of the schedule.

Currently, two races remain on the 2018 schedule. Friday September 21 is the CW “Skip” Smith Memorial race for limited late model and pro stocks. Also part of the night’s action are the 270 and 600 micro sprints. Gates open at 5 p.m. with warm-ups at 7.

The limited late model drivers compete for a $1,000 top prize. The winning pro stock driver receives $500. Additional money is being collected and will be disbursed after knowing the total amount.

See you at the races!


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today