AUTO RACING ROUNDUP: Jim Yoder wins inaugural memorial race at Clinton County Speedway

Jim Yoder won races at both Clinton County Motor Speedway and Selinsgrove Speedway over the weekend. (The Express/Jamie Bird)

Down at Selinsgrove Speedway, it was an amazing night of racing that somewhat comforted the broken hearts of the racing community after the tragic death on Thursday night of Greg Hodnett at BAPS Speedway.

Chris “Smokey” Madden took control of the Sears Craftsman feature on lap one and never looked back, leading all 50 laps on his way to another $10,000 payday in the 20th running of the Late Model National Open. It was his first career win at the speedway. Jim Yoder picked up a limited late model feature. Selinsgrove Speedway will close out the 2018 season with the Tobias-Rose promotion World Series of Dirt Racing Oct. 11-14.

Meanwhile over at Clinton County Motor Speedway; Jim Yoder led all but one lap and went on to win the inaugural CW “Skip” Smith Memorial Race for limited late model stock cars. Johnny Bouse won the pro stock feature for the fourth time this season. The Smith Memorial winner became the tracks leading pro stock winner of the season. Bobby Sanso scored his third 270 micro sprint feature win of the year. Garret Bard won the 600 micro sprint main for the sixth time this season.

Clinton County Motor Speedway is in action again on Saturday, October 20 with a two division super late model, pro stock racing program.

See you at the races!



World of Outlaw Late Model Series – 35 Entries -50-Lap A-Main: 1) 44 Chris Madden $10,000 2) 9 Devin Moran 3) 157 Mike Marlar 4) 7 Rick Eckert 5) 2J Jeff Rine

Limited Late Models – 37 Entries -20-Lap A-Main: 1) 42 Jim Yoder 2) 115S Shaun Miller 3) 23 Todd Snook 4) 16 Matt Cochran 5) 2 Steve Campbell


28 Lap CW Smith Memorial Limited Late Model Feature: 1.Jim Yoder, 2. Matt Cochran, 3. Andrew Yoder, 4. Devin Hart, 5. JR Toner

15 Lap 270 Micro Sprint Car Feature: 1.Bobby Sanso, 2. Jeffrey Weaver, 3. Denny Rinehimer, 4. Skeetz Hockenbrock, 5. Timmy Bitner

15 Lap 600 Micro Sprint Car Feature: 1.Garrett Bard, 2. Jeffrey Weaver, 3. Jake Hummel, 4. Josh Beamer, 5. Paul Upson

18 Lap CW Smith Pro Stock Feature: 1.Johnny Bouse, 2. A.Y. Schilling, 3. Buck Mills, 4. Robert Tressler, 5. Rich Fye


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today