PSU Soccer: Coffey, Riehl and Tagliaferri Named to MAC Hermann Watch List

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. – Three Penn State women’s soccer student-athletes, senior Kaleigh Riehl and juniors Sam Coffey and Frankie Tagliaferri, have been named to the MAC Hermann Trophy watch list for college soccer’s top honor. The MAC Hermann Trophy is presented annually to United Soccer Coaches National Players of the Year in NCAA Division I in men’s and women’s soccer as voted on by NCAA Division I coaches.

Senior Kaleigh Riehl was named a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2018. Riehl anchored the Nittany Lions defense that allowed just 13 goals. She was named a first team All-American and the Big Ten Defender of the Year.

Junior Sam Coffey joined Riehl as a first team All-American last season. As a sophomore at Boston College in 2018, Coffey was named ACC Midfielder of the Year along with being a semifinalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy. Coffey tallied 38 points, scored 12 goals and added 14 assists while playing for Eagles prior to transferring to Penn State.

Rounding out the watch list for the Nittany Lions is junior Frankie Tagliaferri. Tagliaferri was tied for the team lead with 19 points as a sophomore. Tagliafetti scored seven goals and added five assists in 2018. She earned first team All-Region and first team All-Big Ten honors for her performance last season.

In program history, two Nittany Lions have won the prestigious MAC Hermann Trophy. Raquel Rodriguez ’15 most recently won the award in 2015 as she led the Nittany Lions to their first national championship in program history. Christie Welsh ’02 was the first Nittany Lion to claim the MAC Hermann Trophy in 2001 and is still considered one of the most accomplished players in the history of women’s soccer.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)