Local auto racing roundup


For The Express

Lincoln Speedway had its annual “Ice Breaker 30” on Saturday afternoon. Judging by the crowd, everyone in Central Pennsylvania had been waiting for this day to arrive.

It was standing room only to watch Danny Dietrich claim his second career opening-day win.

Dietrich lined up for the main event third, behind pole-sitter Glenndon Forsythe and Ryan Smith. Forsythe led the field into turn No. but the caution came out before a lap could be completed. Brett Michalski and Landon Myers got tangled up in the opening turn. Both drivers were able to rejoin the field.

After several caution flags and a fuel stop on lap 9; with eight laps to go, the field lined up once again behind Dietrich for the restart. Dietrich and the rest of the top five, Logan Schuchart, Freddie Rahmer, Brandon Rahmer and Anthony Macri started to pull away from the rest of the field. Dietrich was just catching the tail end of the field when the white flag waved. Lapped traffic did not come into play and Dietrich took the checkered flag and crossed the line 1.145 seconds ahead of Schuchart. Freddie Rahmer held onto third and Brandon Rahmer finished fourth. Macri crossed the line fifth after starting tenth in the main event.

410 Sprint Car heat winners were Danny Dietrich, Freddie Rahmer and Chase Dietz. This Saturday, Feb. 29, Lincoln Speedway is back in action with 410 Sprint Cars. Racing starts at 2 p.m. with pit gates opening at 11:30a.m. and grandstand gates opening at noon.

Clinton County finally released the plans for the 32nd year of operation at the Speedway.

The Fair Association has decided to be the operators, with assistance and guidance of former race promoter Jason McCahan, who promoted the speedway from 2002-2004. “The board felt it was the right time to take control of the speedway to ensure that it opened in 2020,” said fair board president, Phil Courter. “We watched the success of the Juniata County Fair Association and Port Royal Speedway and would like to replicate that here. We are pleased to have Jason back with us for this new era of racing at Clinton County.”

The speedway plans to open on Friday, May 1 with the Limited Late Models as the headline division. The following week on May 8, the Racesaver Sprint Cars sanctioned by the Laurel Highlands Sprint Series will be the featured division. The two divisions will share the spotlight throughout the 2020 season.

In addition to the headlining divisions, the 270 Micro Sprints, 600 Micro Sprints, Pro Stock and 4 Cylinder Stock cars will be featured weekly. “We have had a number of Pro Stock drivers from Selinsgrove Speedway and Port Royal Speedway express an interest in racing Friday nights at Clinton County, so we have made them a weekly division.” added McCahan. “We are doing the same thing with the 270 Micro Sprints and 600 Micro Sprints, we believe as a weekly division more drivers can commit to making Clinton County their weekly Friday night speedway.”

See you at the Races !



410 Sprint Feature (30 Laps) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich ($4,000); 2. 1s-Logan Schuchart; 3. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 4. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 5. 39M-Anthony Macri


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $3.69/week.

Subscribe Today