Auto racing roundup: David Gravel wins at Williams Grove

It was the Summer Nationals race at Williams Grove Speedway when the World of Outlaws made a swing through central Pennsylvania last weekend. The Outlaws took the bragging rights on this round with David Gravel winning on Saturday night, earning $20,000 for his seventh career Grove win, and third win of the season with the World of Outlaws.

He led all 30 laps unchallenged and easily controlled the final laps, scoring the win by 4.17 seconds over Lance Dewease with Brad Sweet, Logan Schuchart and Jacob Allen completing the top five.

Brent Marks, Brock Zearfoss, 23rd starter Carson Macedo, Anthony Macri and Daryn Pittman rounded out the top 10.

Oklahoma’s Shane Stewart turned away a challenge from Anthony Macri to win night one of the Champion Racing Oil Summer Nationals at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday. The 25-lap victory was worth $8,000 to Stewart whose win was just the second of his career at the oval.

On Thursday, it was Sheldon Haudenschild pulling his No. 17 car into Victory Lane at Lincoln Speedway where he got more than a trophy and shower of confetti. He got redemption.

The Wooster, Ohio, driver missed transferring to the Feature at Lincoln in 2019. This year, he entered the Gettysburg Clash presented by Drydene on a streak of 16 top-10s in a row — nine of them being top-five finishes — and carried that momentum to his first World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series win of 2020 and first at Lincoln Speedway.

Down at Clinton County Speedway, Williamsport’s Matt Cochran won his second career limited-late model feature Friday over Jim Yoder. In pro stock action, AJ Stroup claimed his second win of the season, and Timmy Bitner of Beech Creek won the 270 micro sprints. Josh Beamer won the 600 micro sprints and Tyler Watson won in the four-cylinders.

At BAPS Motor Speedway, Gregg Satterlee made out better Saturday than he did Friday when motor problems ended his bid for a win at Trail-Way. He charged to the front and secured the victory in the 40-lap Creekside Auto Sales Smokey Frye Classic, which paid $4,000 to the winner. Satterlee also received an extra $1,000 from Bernheisel Race Components for sweeping last week’s York County Nationals opener and this event.

John Edkin topped a strong field in the BAPS Super Sportsman main event to collect his second career win at the speedway. Patrick McClane started eighth and surged to the front to take the win in the Super Homes Extreme Stock main event.

At Selinsgrove Speedway, Jason Shultz scored his first win in the $3,000 Summer Championship for modern heritage 410 sprint cars. He was in his new No. 35 car, although winning at Selinsgrove wasn’t new for the former limited sprint car track champion. Andy Haus took the win in the Summer Championship for super-late models, also pocketing $3,000 for his 25 laps of work while holding off Jeff Rine. The victory was the third of Haus’ career at the speedway. The Roadrunner 20 was taken by 19th starter Jake Jones.

Todd English of Clearfield picked up the $1,000 small-block modified special Saturday at Hidden Valley Speedway, becoming the only driver to repeat on the night. New winners included Ryan Scott in the super-late models, Gary Little of Clearfield in the TH Port-A-John semi-late models, Duke Davidson in the street stocks, Andrew Wallace of Altoona in the pure stocks and Jeff Huber in the Little’s Drive-In four-cylinders.

Les Myers and Jeff Manners won in their respective class of vintage modifieds making a special visit for the night. Coming up this Saturday is the North East Compact Series for the Little’s Drive-In four-cylinders , which will pay $2,000 to win. The super-late models and TH Port-A-John semi-lates will also be in action.

Fans and drivers were welcomed back to Hummingbird Speedway on Saturday for the fourth night of racing action in 2020. It was a special night, both on and off the track, as the Economods and Young Guns Jr. sprints joined the regular five-division program and celebrated track owner Louie Caltagarone’s 92nd birthday.

It was the Economods first-ever trip to Hummingbird and the Young Guns Jr. sprints second visit. The night also saw Jake Valasek make his racing debut in the pure stock division. Jake was born with Cerebral Palsy and his car was custom made so he can run it exclusively with his hands.

Feature winners on the night included Sam Darby in the Young Guns Jr. sprints open class, Garrett Davenport in the Young Guns Jr. sprints stock class, Jeremy Double in the Close Racing Supply Economods, Doug Eck in the BWP Bats super-late models, Bill Mumau in the Sunny 106.5 FM pure stocks, Blake Joiner in the Lockwood Processing four-cylinders, Nick Erskine in the Swanson Heavy Duty Truck Repair semi-late models and Zack Gustafson in the Cypress Clock and Gift Shop street stocks.


Sprint car feature (30 laps): 1. David Gravel; 2. Lance Dewease; 3. Brad Sweet; 4. Logan Schuchart; 5. Jacob Allen. 410 sprints (25 laps) (Friday): 1. Shane Stewart; 2. Donny Schatz; 3. Anthony Macri; 4. Daryn Pittman; 5. Brock Zearfoss.


Super-late models: 1. Ryan Scott, Garland; 2. Luke Hoffner; 3. John Wayne Weaver; 4. Billy Eash; 5. Dylan Fenton. … TH Port-A-John semi-lates: 1. Gary Little, Clearfield; 2. Rich Wicker; 3. Ryan Jacoby; 4. Josh Jacoby; 5. Tom Decker. … Small-block modifieds: 1. Todd English, Clearfield; 2. Trent Ogden; 3. Josh Deems; 4. Josh Henry; 5. Aaron Casher. … PA Thunder On Dirt vintage modifieds: 1. Les Myers, Reno; 2. Mark Hahn; 3. Steve Longo; 4. Gene Wrightstone; 5. Jeff Manners. … Street stocks: 1. Duke Davidson, Mahaffey; 2. Rich Howell; 3. Raymond Reynolds; 4. Cragen Brady; 5. Bill Phillips, Jr. … Pure stocks: 1. Andrew Wallace, Altoona; 2. Brad Benton; 3. Rich Anderson; 4. Justin Centra; 5. Sam Pennington. … Little’s Drive-In four-cylinders: 1. Jeff Huber, Langville; 2. Kevin Criswell; 3. Michael Shobert; 4. Greg Kiehl; 5. Tanner Ogden.


410 sprint feature (35 laps): 1. Sheldon Haudenschild ($10,000); 2. Logan Schuchart; 3. Jacob Allen; 4. David Gravel; 5. Carson Macedo.


410 sprints cars (25-laps, A-Main): 1. Jason Shultz; 2. Kyle Reinhardt; 3. Dylan Cisney; 4. Mark Smith; 5. Justin Whittal. … Super-late models (25 laps, A-Main): 1. Andy Haus; 2. Jeff Rine; 3. Dylan Yoder; 4. Brett Schadel; 5. Jim Yoder. … Roadrunners (20-laps, A-Main); 1. Jake Jones; 2. Curtis Lawton; 3. Keith Bissinger; 4. Daren Rice; 5. Jimmy Kessler.


Super-late models Creekside Auto Sales Smokey Frye Classic feature (40 laps): 1. Gregg Satterlee; 2. Rick Eckert; 3. Gene Knaub; 4. Wyatt Scott; 5. Coleby Frye. … BAPS Super Sportsman feature (25 laps): 1. John Edkin; 2. Matt Ondek; 3. Scott Dellinger; 4. Kenny Edkin; 5. Mike Enders. … Superior Homes extreme stocks feature (20 laps): 1. Patrick McClaine; 2. Bill Powell; 3. Travis Horan; 4. Hunter Fulton; 5. Donnie Broderick.


Limited-late models: 1. Matt Cochran; 2. Jim Yoder; 3. Kevin Probst; 4. Joe Lusk; 5 Bryan Benton. … Pro stocks: 1. AJ Stroup; 2. Tommy Dawson; 3. Brandon Moser; 4. AY Schilling; 5. Jason Smith. … 270 micros: 1. Timmy Bitner; 2. Jeffrey Weaver; 3. Troy Whitsel; 4. Nathan Bacon; 5. Sean McAndrew. …

600 micros: 1. Josh Beamer; 2. Tyson Mowery; 3. Trevor Teats; 4. Cody Hauch; 5. Jeff Gyunia. … Four-cylinders: 1. Tyler Watson; 2. Blake Snyder; 3. Michael Boring; 4. Jimmy Delozier; 5. Skylar Whitchley.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)