Linden’s Schweikart won at Clinton County Speedway in racing

Clinton County Speedway finally got the 2020 racing season open on Friday and Linden’s Dale Schweikart claimed the victory in the 25-lap event in a contested battle with his son, Dakota.

Other winners of the night include Garret Bard in the 600 micro sprints, Lock Haven’s Jeffrey Weaver in the 270 micro sprints, Lock Haven’s Robert Tressler in the pro stocks and Renovo’s Maddox Smith in the four-cylinder division.

The Speedway returns Friday with a five-division show featuring the limited-late models. The race will be a limited-late models/semi-late model challenge event. The top three semi-late models will receive a bonus of $100, $50 and $25, respectively.

In addition the pro stocks, 600, 270s and four-cylinders will be part of the racing program. Gates will open at 5:15, hot laps at 7 p.m. and racing at 7:30 p.m.

Lance Dewease muscled past Brian Montieth and then out-ran Kyle Larson to win the opening night of the 30th annual Red Robin Pennsylvania Speedweek Series for sprint cars at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday. Dewease earned $5,000 for his 99th career victory at the oval aboard the Don Kreitz-owned No. 69K.

In the companion 358 sprint main, Kevin Nouse took over when Zach Newlin dropped out of the lead to win the 20-lap feature. Williams Grove returns to action Friday with the Mitch Smith Memorial race in the biggest race of the 2020 PA Speedweek Series. The race pays $15,000 to win. Race time is 7:30 p.m. for the 410 sprints only show.

At Lincoln Speedway, Danny Dietrich got to the checkered flag with a 1.013-second advantage over Kyle Larson. Lance Dewease crossed the line third and Freddie Rahmer finished fourth. Rico Abreu completed the top five.

Seth Kearchner parked his number 30 Central PA Legend machine in victory lane Saturday for the first time in his career. The 20-lap feature came down to the last lap as Kearchner held off veteran driver Bill Diehl for the win.

Down at Selinsgrove Speedway, Mark Smith stormed to the fifth Kramer Kup win of his career Saturday, besting the URC Sprints for laurels in the eighth running of the Kramer Williamson Memorial event, run in honor of the track’s late champion and URC stalwart.

Jeff Rine of Danville won his second super-late model main in as many weeks to score career win No. 111 in the division while Jake Jones scored his second win of the season in roadrunner action.

Sunday it was Danny Dietrich who came out on top in what was a non-stop, dizzying event filled with astonishing exhibitions of high-speed skill at the hands of not only himself but by Abreu, Larson, Anthony Macri and Brock Zearfoss as well, in the Jan Opperman/Dick Bogar Memorial for Red Robin Pennsylvania Speedweek show.

In the 20-lap 305 sprint main, Nitro Nick Sweigart scored the win to record his first ever division win at the track.

More accustomed to having to start deep in the field, Rine used a rare front row starting position to devastate the field in Bedford late-model action Friday. The win was Rine’s second Bedford win of the year and the 29th of his career, ranking third on the all time list.

In other action, Brian Weyandt Jr held off a wild last lap challenge to take the semi-late win and Drake Troutman ran off from the EMod field. In the best race of the night, Kyle Deneen bested a wild ten-car battle for the pure stock win before Ryan Peer won yet another four-cylinder event in a swan song performance.

PA Speedweek continues all week, so get to a local track and support your favorite drivers.

I’ll see you at the races.



Sprints (25 laps): 1. Dale Schweikart; 2. Dakota Schweikart; 3. Jeffrey Weaver; 4. Scott Lutz; 5. Larry McVay; 6. Jacob Gomola; 7. Garret Bard; 8. Kruz Kepner; 9. Jared Zionkowski; 10. Dylan Proctor; 11. Tyler Cochran; 12. John Walp; 13. Reed Thompson; 14. Roger Irvine; 15. Fred Arnold; 16. Chris Kreider; 17. Josh Beamer; 18. Matt Tebbs; 19. Todd Lynn; 20. Derek Hauck; 21. Mike Murphy Jr.; 22. Cody Hackenberry; 23. Ray Sheetz; 24. Jim Kennedy; 25. Daryl Stimeling.

Pro stocks: 1. Robert Tressler; 2. Noah Jensen; 3. Tommy Dawson; 4. Kevin VanAmburg; 6. AY Schilling; 7. Cory Long; 8. Marc Bitler; 9. Bard Benton; 10. Brad Myers; 11. Rich Fye; DNS: Ron Benton.

600 micros: 1. Garret Bard; 2. Lance Spotts; 3. Tyson Mowery; 4. Mason Peters; 5. Jeffrey Weaver; 6. Cody Hauck; 7. Jeff Gyurina; 8. Sierra Hauck; 9. Derek Swartz; 10. Cory Brungard; 11. Bobby Sanso; 12. Josh Beamer; 13. Trever Teats; 14. Dermont Thompson; 15. Mitchell Holden; 16. Brock Peterbaugh; 17. Bob Bogart; 18. Timmy Bitner; DNS: Donald Werner; Eric Leonard.

270 micros: 1. Jeffrey Weaver; 2. Sean McAndrew; 3. Troy Whitesel; 4. Bobby Sanso; 5. Ethan Spotts; 6. Kyler Stahl; 7. Dan Wertman; 8. Timmy Bitner; 9. Denny Rinehimer; 10. Hunter Zimmerman; 11. Buddy Kramer; 12. Mitchell Holden; 13. Shawn Musser; 14. Nicholas Whitsel; 15. Logan Hammaker.

Four-cylinders: 1. Maddox Smith; 2. Sterling Kepner; 3. Michael Boring; 4. Kennedy Courter; 5. Zachery Rill; 6. Shane Witchley; 7. Chelsie Harris; 8. Blake Snyder; 9. Tyler Watson.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)