Lincoln Speedway opened season Saturday night

After a challenging 2020 racing season, a long winter with a week delay from snow and a two-hour pushed back start time, the 2021 racing season got underway Saturday afternoon at Lincoln Speedway.

Tim Wagaman lined up on the outside of the front row, next to pole-sitter Kyle Moody, who took the lead when the green flag dropped. Defending track champion Freddie Rahmer pulled off after the first lap along with Steve Buckwalter.

Wagaman got to the outside of Moody going into turn 1 on a restart, and the two drag raced down the back stretch. Wagaman got by Moody going into turn 3 to take the lead.

Moody was within striking distance of Wagaman when the white flag waved but could not get around Wagaman. Tim Wagaman crossed the line .257 seconds ahead of Moody for his first win since 2014. Tim Glatfelter finished third and Alan Krimes was fourth. Matt Campbell completed the top five.

On Saturday, Lincoln Speedway is back in action with 410 sprint cars and open practice. Racing starts at 2 p.m. with pit gates opening at 11:30 a.m. and grandstand gates opening at noon. The open practice is open to divisions on the 2021 Lincoln Speedway schedule.

Due to the pandemic limitations on indoor events no banquet was held so the 410 sprint car champion and awards winners were honored Saturday at the season opener. The 358 champions and award winners will be honored at their first race of the season on March 20.

Freddie Rahmer scored his first Lincoln Speedway track title in a point battle that went down to the wire. Going into the final race of the season, Rahmer had a 180-point advantage over Danny Dietrich, who was chasing his second track title after missing a handful of races throughout the season. Dietrich won the final race of the season, but Rahmer’s fourth place finish Oct. 17 allowed him to claim his first track championship.

The 410 sprints ran 24 races in 2020 with 13 different winners and four first-time winners — Rico Abreu, Spencer Bayston, Dylan Cisney and Sheldon Haudenschild. In total, 123 different drivers entered competition at the track in 2020.

Receiving Rookie of the Year honors after making the jump from 358 to 410 sprints full-time in 2020 is Troy Wagaman Jr.

Hivner had six top-10s and one top-5 finish.

Tim Wagaman earned the Most Improved Driver award with two podium finishes, both of which were third-place finishes. The first coming on May 30 and the second on August 8.

Port Royal Speedway is set to open Sunday at 2 p.m. with the 410 sprints and late models. Williams Grove Speedway will open its season with a 410 sprint car only racing program coming up Sunday, March 14, at 2 p.m.

See you at the races.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today