Kyle Larson picks up a win at Port Royal Speedway

Kyle Larson proved all the naysayers and doubters wrong when he put on a racing clinic Saturday at Port Royal Speedway. He led all 50 laps in a late model car that he had only raced once before, where he had finished fifth.

The win was worth $15,000, along with an additional $1,000 courtesy of Packer’s Concessions.

In victory lane he said, “I thought we’d be OK, but I definitely did not expect to win a race. To climb into something that’s way different than anything I’ve ever been in and to have success with such a great team just means a lot.”

Larson bested Brandon Sheppard by 0.499 seconds at the line, while local competitor Gregg Satterlee made up the rest of the podium. Chris Ferguson and Tim McCreadie filled out the rest of the top-five.

While he led all 50 laps, he had to fight off multiple attempts from Sheppard, Hudson O’Neal, Satterlee and Ferguson to get the job done.

On Thursday Tim McCreadie led all 30 laps during the first round of the Rumble by the River at Port Royal Speedway to pick up the Lucas Oil late-model dirt series victory worth $10,000. The win was McCreadie’s fifth series victory of the 2020 racing season and his second career victory at the Juniata County oval.

Andrew Yoder and Dillan Stake both picked up Selinsgrove limited-late model victories as part of a pair of twin 20 features that served as rain postponed make-ups from earlier this year.

At Lincoln Speedway the Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions, Indiana’s Spencer Bayston cruised into Posse Country on Saturday night and left a winner, scoring the inaugural Kramer Klash at Lincoln Speedway for a $7,300 payday.

Coming up next week will be the Bob Leiby Memorial featuring the Twin 20s for the 410 sprints and the Central PA Legends. Action starts at 7:30 p.m. with pit gates open at 5 p.m.

The traveling All-Stars moved on after the first seven visits to Bedford Speedway had resulted in seven different winners. The two-time and defending Ollie’s Bargain Outlet All Star Circuit of Champions champion Aaron Reutzel crossed into the multi-time threshold Sunday and claimed a second Bedford Speedway feature win. He did so over Central Pennsylvania rival and recent Series winner Danny Dietrich.

The All Star victory, accompanied by a $5,000 top prize, was Reutzel’s ninth of the 2020 season, well on his way to a third consecutive Series championship with 11 events remaining on the schedule.

It was a big race weekend and Lance Dewease drove to victory in the 30-lap Jack Gunn Memorial for 410 sprint cars at Selinsgrove Speedway on Saturday, scoring the $5,000 payday aboard the Don Kreitz Jr.-owned No. 69K for the 15th win of his career at the oval.

In the 20-lap limited late model main, Andrew Yoder of Middleburg scored for the third time this season at the track to pick up $1,200 for the win that was also his 10th overall of the season. In the roadrunner feature, Curtis Lawton raced with Jake Jones for the race right down to the final turn to get the win.

The Speedway will present the Selinsgrove Ford National Open Qualifier for Modern Heritage 410 sprint cars Sunday at 7 p.m.

The 410 sprints will race on Selinsgrove Ford night along with super-late models and the roadrunners in a big holiday weekend program boasting increased purses for all. The winner of the 30-lap, $5,000 to win National Open Qualifier will earn a guaranteed starting spot in the Jim Nace Memorial National Open on Sept. 26, which pays $20,000 to win.

Asphalt saw some action too at the Jennerstown Speedway Complex on TMT Transportation Night at the races and Albert Francis (late models), Anthony Aiello (modifieds), Casey Fleegle (street stocks), Scott Mitchell (chargers) and Jeff Vasos (four-cylinders) were all celebrating wtih wins.

The final round of the Ron’s Collision Center Enduro Series was contested with Josh Dunmyer (six-cylinder division) and Nick Niemiec (four-cylinder division) victorious.

Jennerstown Speedway will present five division racing along with three rescheduled special attractions Saturday.

The 2020 Hall of Fame Induction ceremony will take place before the races begin and autorgraph night will begin before race tim.

Prior to the start of racing, all fans will be invited to the front straightaway to meet the drivers and take photos with the cars. Following the races, there will be a fireworks display at Jennerstown.

See you at the races.


SATURDAY: Lucas Oil Late Model Results- 1. Kyle Larson ($16,000) 2. Brandon Sheppard 3. Gregg Satterlee 4. Chris Ferguson 5. Tim McCreadie

Mid-Atlantic Modifieds Results- 1. Ryan Ayers ($1500) 2. Ron Davies 3. Ty Rhoads 4. Carl McKinney 5. Drake Troutman

THURSDAY: Lucas Oil Late Model Results 1. Tim MCreadie ($10,000) 2. Kyle Strickler 3. Jimmy Owens 4. Chris Ferguson 5. Kyle Larson

Limited Late Model Feature 1 Results- 1. Andrew Yoder ($1000) 2. Trent Brenneman 3. Dillan Stake 4. Matt Cochran 5. Shaun Miller

Limited Late Model Feature 2 Results- 1. Dillan Stake ($1000) 2. Trent Brenneman 3. Andrew Yoder 4. Shawn Shoemaker 5. Devin Hart


1. 39S-Spencer Bayston [1]; 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel [6]; 3. 21-Brian Montieth [3]; 4. 5E-Tim Wagaman [7]; 5. 26-Cory Eliason [15]

Central PA Legends Feature (20 laps) 1. 10-Jeremy Ott; 2. 53-Bill Diehl; 3. 51-Travis McClelland; 4. 94D-Alex Schmeidel; 5. 30K-Seth Kearchner


1. 87-Aaron Reutzel [1]; 2. 48-Danny Dietrich [2]; 3. 13-Paul McMahan [3]; 4. 5-Brent Marks [7]; 5. 26-Cory Eliason [6]



O’Reilly Auto Parts Super Late Models – 1. Joe Petyak, Gallitzen; 2. Ryan Scott, 3. Billy Eash, 4. Curtis Teats, 5. Jon Lee

TH Port-A-John Semi Lates – 1. Tom Decker, Jr, Tyrone; 2. Rich Wicker, 3. Scott Carabaugh, 4. Gary Little, 5. George Bailey

Hugill’s Sanitation Small Block Modifies – 1. Todd English, Clearfield; 2. Trent Ogden, 3. Aaron Casher, 4. Milton Owens, 5. Fay Lumadue

Street Stocks – 1. Brent Johnson, Brookville; 2. Gary Luzier, 3. Pat Fielding, 4. Joe Stratroroth, 5. Rich Howell

Pure Stocks – 1. Brad Benton, Duncansville; 2. Greg Blystone, 3. Bill Hummel, 4. Andrew Wallace, 5. Ron Majewsky

Little’s Drive In Auto Sales/Jess Mayhew Four Cylinders – 1. Rob Williams, Williamsport; 2. Eric Luzier, 3. Kolton Wagner, 4. Austin Hockenberry, 5. Greg Kiehl


410 sprints, 30 Laps: 1) 69K Lance Dewease 2) 39M Anthony Macri 3) 5 Dylan Cisney 4) 3Z Brock Zearfoss 5) 45 Jeff Halligan

Limited Late Models, 20-Laps: 1) 2Y Andrew Yoder 2) 12K Jared Fulkroad 3) 57 Mike Smith 4) 20 Joe Lusk 5) 42 Jim Yoder

Roadrunners, 12-Laps: 1) 1) 33 Curtis Lawton 2) 7 Jake Jones 3) 8R Daren Rice 4) 11 Keith Bissinger 5) 77 Scott Dunham Jr.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $3.69/week.

Subscribe Today