UPMC Susquehanna hospital named patient safety contest winner

PHOTO PROVIDED Members of the ICU and Infectious Disease team include: Rachel Wertz, Christina Breining, Wendy Batschelet, Deb Canellos, Marguerite Parmer, Donna Fought, Jodi Gates, Steve Sofopoulos, Denise Paras, Brandi Alexander, Kaeli Druckenmiller, and Amanda Smith.

WILLIAMSPORT –Employee service partners with the Intensive Care Unit (ICU) and Infectious Disease at UPMC Susquehanna’s Williamsport Regional Medical Center were recently names winners in the Pennsylvania Patient Safety Authority’s annual I Am Patient Safety Contest.

UPMC Susquehanna was chosen as one of only 14 winning entries from 184 nominees statewide. Team members included employee service partners from the Intensive Care Unit, infectious disease practitioners, and a professional development specialist. They were recognized for their efforts to analyze every central line-associated blood stream infection (CLABSI) in the ICU. By using new protective and sterile equipment procedures and conducting competency checks on the new procedures, they experienced zero infections of this type for over a year and a half or 572 days. The team continues their work to remain CLABSI-free.

“Working together to keep our patients safe, takes an attention to detail by every staff member. Our shared goal in the ICU to always do what is best for the patient. This award is an outside recognition of our efforts and we are truly honored,” says Wendy Batschelet, director of Critical Care at Williamsport Regional Medical Center.

As healthcare facilities report serious events (events that cause harm to patients) and incidents (events that did not cause harm to patients) to the Authority, the Authority turns that information into timely data analyses, resources, and educational tools to keep healthcare staff informed and prepared to internally address patient safety trends.

The I Am Patient Safety Contest gives healthcare facilities an opportunity to share and celebrate stories of healthcare staff demonstrating an exemplary commitment to the safety of the patients they serve daily. The criteria used by the Authority to choose this year’s winners included nominations that most strongly described a discernible impact and evident commitment to patient safety, a strong patient safety culture, and a noticeable initiative in regards to patient safety efforts.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *


Starting at $3.69/week.

Subscribe Today